Kristin Y. Pettersen

Kristin Y. Pettersen is a Professor of Engineering Cybernetics at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) and Adjunct Professor at the Norwegian Defence Research Establishment. She co-founded the subsea robotics company Eelume AS, where she was CEO 2015-2016 and is now a board member. She was awarded an ERC Advanced Grant 2020 and received the IEEE CSS 2020 Hendrik W. Bode Lecture Prize. She is IEEE CSS Distinguished Lecturer, a Fellow of IEEE and AAIA, a member of the Norwegian Academy of Technological Sciences, and a member of the Academy of the Royal Norwegian Society of Sciences and Letters.

Her main research interests are in the development of methodologies for the analysis and control of autonomous robots, with an emphasis on marine robotics and snake robotics.

K1_5F_9258 1

Karl H. Johansson

Karl H. Johansson is Swedish Research Council Distinguished Professor in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at KTH Royal Institute of Technology in Sweden and Director of Digital Futures. He received MSc degree in Electrical Engineering and PhD in Automatic Control from Lund University. He has held visiting positions at UC Berkeley, Caltech, NTU among other institutions. His research interests are in networked control systems and cyber-physical systems with applications in transportation, energy, and automation networks. He is Vice President IEEE Control Systems Society, member of IFAC Council, and Immediate Past President of the European Control Association, and he has served on the IEEE Control Systems Society Board of Governors and the Swedish Scientific Council for Natural Sciences and Engineering Sciences. He has received several best paper awards and other distinctions from IEEE, IFAC, and ACM. He has been awarded Distinguished Professor by Swedish Research Council, Wallenberg Scholar with the Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation, Future Research Leader from the Swedish Foundation for Strategic Research, the triennial IFAC Young Author Prize, IEEE Control Systems Society Distinguished Lecturer, and IEEE Control Systems Society Hendrik W. Bode Lecture Prize. He is Fellow of the IEEE and the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences.